Descanso Gardens

First off, let me describe this new category Delightful Destinations. Being an explorer and lover of traveling and discovering enchanting destinations, I thought it would be wonderful sub-section to my blog to detail my various explorations and discoveries of the beautiful Southern California. Since I am currently studying the tourism industry and looking to work within it soon, it would only seem improper to not portray my love for traveling through Delightful Discoveries.

There are so many different destinations within Southern California, particularly surrounding the Los Angeles area. I recently traveled a short 20 minutes from my home in the San Fernando Valley to the magical Descanso Gardens, located in Glendale, CA. To this destination, I was accompanied by my great friend and room-mate Christopher James Sigman, who took all of the breath-taking photos of the gardens.


Words cannot describe how beautiful I found the Descanso Gardens. When your living deep within the concrete jungle of Los Angeles, you tend to lose sight of the beauty that can be seen within the wilderness. When deep within the gardens, I felt like I was hundreds of miles away in some far away land that only existed within my imagination. But I was actually right in the middle of one of the largest cities in the world! These gardens give you that necessary escape from the constant fast pace of the city.

I did not expect the gardens to be so vast and enormous. There were several different sub-sections to the gardens such as, The Japanese Gardens, The Oak Forest and Grove, The California Native Area with surrounding lakes, Lilac and Iris Gardens, and of course the beautiful Rose Garden. I also did not expect to see the different types of wildlife present within the gardens!


All areas were simply breathtaking, but the Rose Garden was a special area that seemed straight out of a fairytale. There were fields of various types of flowers featured between well-kepted grassy walk-ways and sparkling clear creeks full of different types of fish. Enchanting trails lead to several fountains, waterfalls, and gazebos that were full of canopies of floral and greenery that gave off a beautiful aroma that only enhanced the experience.


Like I said, words cannot describe the true beauty of the Descanso Gardens. They offer a peaceful sanctuary that can be healing to anyone in need of an escape. Anyone within the Southern California area or looking to visit here, be sure to mark the magical Descanso Gardens on your list of things to do.

Your’s Truly 😉

6 thoughts on “Descanso Gardens

Leave a Reply

